The Faculty of Engineering began offering undergraduate education in the 1998-1999 academic year. Currently it includes the following ten departments: Computer Engineering, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Food Engineering, Civil Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Bioengineering, Energy Systems Engineering, and Environmental Engineering.

The departments of Chemical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Engineering, Food Engineering, Bioengineering, Materials Science and Engineering, and Environmental Engineering offer undergraduate, Master’s and PhD degrees. The Department of Energy Systems Engineering offers undergraduate and Master’s programs. Interdisciplinary doctoral programs within the Graduate School of Engineering and Sciences offer Master’s and PhD degrees.

In the 2021-2022 academic year, there were 3149 undergraduate and 577 graduate students (in the departments and interdisciplinary programs ovrseen by our faculty). Undergraduate students in our faculty have the opportunity to do Double Majors and Minors.

There are 114 lecturer and 277 academic staff in our faculty. Our low student to faculty ratio allows us to carry out educational activities in small classrooms and permits students to actively interact with faculty members.

Müdek, a member of the Washington Accord, responsible for accreditation of Engineering Programs and signed by Engineering programs such as ABET in the U.S. and ECUK in England, accredited the undergraduate programs of Chemical Engineering (May 1, 2011- Sept 30, 2022), Mechanical Engineering (May 1, 2011 – Sept 30, 2022), and Computer Engineering (May 1, 2012 – Sept 30, 2022). These programs are also awarded the EUR-ACE Label, valid for the accreditation period. This accreditation of our departments certifies that our students meet international standards and demonstrates the competence of our graduates both nationally and abroad.

In the 1998-1999 academic year, our faculty began with 20 undergraduate students in each of the departments of Computer Engineering, Chemical Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering. For the 2019-2020 academic year, Computer Engineering, Civil Engineering and Mechanical Engineering each accepted 72 students, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Food Engineering, and Chemical Engineering each accepted 62 students, Bioengineering and Materials Science and Engineering each accepted 52 students, and Environmental Engineering and Energy Systems Engineering each accepted 41 students, for a total of 588 students admitted to the undergraduate departments of our faculty.

Since its establishment,  the list of deans of the Engineering Faculty is given below.

Prof.Dr.Semra ÜLKÜ 1996 – 1999
Prof.Dr.Zafer İLKEN 1999 – 2002
Prof.Dr.Muhsin ÇİFTÇİOĞLU 2002 – 2007
Prof.Dr.Mehmet POLAT 2007 – 2007
Prof.Dr.M.Barış ÖZERDEM 2007 – 2010
Prof.Dr.Funda TIHMINLIOĞLU 2011 – 2015
Prof.Dr.Figen KOREL 2015 – 2018
Prof. Dr. Mustafa M.DEMİR 2018-continued